Re: Default access
> maybe that [no public access] is the default
Yes, it’s the default.
Trouble is when you want to share a file on S3 with someone else, your choice is either
(a) do some fancy thing to make a single-use time-limitted URL that you can share, or
(b) make the content public temporarily - with the danger of forgetting to change it back to private afterwards.
I think this must explain many of the S3 screwups we’ve heard about.