Re: "the outage lost all of his photographs"
It sounds like they had a brilliant design where the local ReadyNAS you can hold in your hand would wipe itself if the ReadyCLOUD account was marked as closed. So if the cloud server makes a mistake and decides the account is closed and wipes the data and then the local NAS gets told that the account is closed, then the data is wiped everywhere. If it really does work that way, then it is a mindbogglingly stupid design. Essentially you are not in control of your local NAS at that point and it can only be considered a backup device, not primary storage, which it seems a lot of people thought it was with cloud backup.