Reply to post: MCAS from a Systems Perspective

Boeing big cheese repeats pledge of 737 Max software updates following fatal crashes

BobC

MCAS from a Systems Perspective

I was an engineer at an aircraft instrument maker while it was developing and certifying its TAWS (Terrain Awareness and Warning System) product. I worked in essentially all aspects of the product except for the design of the hardware itself. In particular, I was involved in requirements analysis, software design and development, hardware production (processes and tools), and FAA certification.

Though TAWS provided only audible and visual warnings, we were greatly concerned that we not urge the pilot to take excessive or inappropriate action, such as by announcing a warning too late, or by announcing an incorrect warning. The official TAWS specification described very well what the system must do, but did much less to define what the system must **not** do.

One of my prime responsibilities was to conceive of ways to "break" TAWS, then update our requirements to ensure those scenarios were properly handled, and then update our certification procedures to ensure those scenarios were thoroughly tested. Many of my findings revealed "holes" in the official FAA TAWS specification, some of which were significant. (Being a competitive company, we fixed them in our product, then reported them to the FAA as real or potential flaws in competing products. Essentially, we kicked the hornet's nest every chance we could. Fun for us, harmful to our competitors, and safer for everyone.)