Re: Not my field of expertise
The solution is pretty obvious to me. Deletions are only performed on live (current) data, BUT a record or log of all such deletions is kept. If and when it is ever necessary to restore from a backup archive, that deletion log is used to immediately delete the same data on the newly restored records before going live with the restored media.
Something that could be trivially automated so that it is applied automagically after any restore script is run.