back to article The Linux Chronicles, Part 1

Last Autumn I volunteered to review Windows 7. But in the following weeks, I found Linux to be preferable in many ways. This is pretty significant progress, and outside the 'community' has gone largely unnoticed, too - I haven't seen all that many Ubuntu stories in the Wall Street Journal. But what comes next is going to be …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Leo Maxwell
    Thumb Up

Me too

I have to agree.

My day job is supporting a multiuser, multiOS company network.

Windows2003, 2008, XP,Vista, 7.

Mac OSX

Linux, Redhat server, and until recently, Suse desktops.

We are now an Ubuntu 10.4 shop where Linux desktops are concerned, and the Windows users are becoming restless.

At home, Ubuntu, UNR, and Mythbuntu.

At least a dozen installs on very different hardware combinations, and no problems.

Evolution even works well with our Exchange server.

2. GregC

Good read...

... which pretty much mirrors my own experiences with Ubuntu recently. However I have to take issue with this:

"This is true of the window controls shifting to the left, Mac-style, in Ubuntu 10. You have to know, or Google it, or download an Ubuntu "PowerTools" app to put them back over to the right. A simple clear setting would help."

The buttons move according to what theme you choose, so this is only a problem if you want to keep the default theme and move the buttons. A simple setting would be an improvement, I agree though.

1. JEDIDIAH
      Linux

The GUI isn't that hard.

> "This is true of the window controls shifting to the left,

> Mac-style, in Ubuntu 10. You have to know, or

> Google it, or download an Ubuntu "PowerTools" app to

> put them back over to the right. A simple clear setting would help."