back to article BCS civil war heats up ahead of crunch general meeting

A row over the future of the British Computer Society (BCS) is heating up ahead of a crunch emergency general meeting that will debate a no-confidence motion against the chief exec and current board of trustees. Disaffected members are angry about the governance and spending plans of the venerable society's current leadership …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Thumb Down

Value!?

Since joining BCS, I've started to question it's vale for money, in terms of it's recognition within the industry. This in-fighting has put the nail in the coffin that I won't be renewing next year.

1. John Shaw-Miller
      Thumb Down

RE: Value!?

I dont think I will be renewing this year either - its become quite a sideline really - they arent as much of a power (or even respected) as they used to be.

1. Dapprman

What power ?

I've been a member since I was a student some 14 (?) years ago, and to be honest each year I wonder why I let my auto-renew continue. I think it has only been down to the possibility I may actually make a branch meeting as some of those do sound interesting.

As to power in the industry and respect, I've never known it to have any and those few friends of mine in IT who still want to be a member of a professional body are all in IEEE instead.

This spat has highlighted to me two groups at the top with which I find myself at odds, so I will not be voting as I support neither and perhaps I may remember in time to stop my auto-renewal and resign my membership.

My 2p

1. Anonymous Coward
          Paris Hilton

Renewing