back to article Super-soldier exoskeleton to get 3-day fuel cell powerpack

A radical powered exoskeleton under development for use by the US military is to be fitted with fuel-cell power supplies which will increase its endurance from hours to days - and furnish juice for the burgeoning load of electronics carried by modern soldiers, too. Global arms behemoth Lockheed, developing the Human Universal …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Danny 14
    Joke

aye

How about adding some AI to it too? Surely that CANT go wrong can it?

2. exit...quit...bye...quitbye.ctrl-C..ctrlX.ctrl-alt-X...aarrrr*slam*
    Joke

More armor?

In other, completely unrelated news, Izhmash have demonstrated prototypes of their new bolt-action rifle firing 22mm APDFS rounds.

3. Paul_Murphy

Hulc?

That's incredibe!

waiting for the armour, machine guns, lasers and iPod dock.

ttfn

4. Chris 226
    FAIL

Flaws?

Two flaws I can spot (though i'm no expert):

1. A good EMP device could cripple the forces that wear them, if one was to be developed.

2. A good shot could detonate the fuel cells, killing all in the vicinity of the poor soul that got it.

So to win tomorrow's wars, build a better electronics-buggering device. Either that or get plenty of target practice.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

yeah but

like most armour vs weapon races, an emp weapon comes out, emp protection comes out, vulnerable fuel cells targeted, better armour and more concelead fuel tanks. Repeat until next kind of armour comes out. Although we are yet to see a deployable emp device even though we've had planes/battletanks/warships/missiles/ccc that are probably far more scary then a battle armour clad marine.

Also normal bullets generally don't make things explode.

5. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

So when.

Do we get the cyborgs?

6. Winkypop Silver badge
    Thumb Up

Robocop Lite?

Kewl

7. Nigel Callaghan

But how do they stand up?