back to article Mainframe shops gush over big iron

Mainframe maker IBM and its few remaining peers that sell their own mainframes are probably cheered by two recent surveys of mainframe shops, one that came out of market researcher IDC and the other out of mainframe software maker CA. But maybe not. IDC polled some 300 IBM mainframe shops and kicked out a study with the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    FAIL

A very nervous group, there

I've been telling people for over 15 years: the primary focus of mainframe people is finding ways to keep mainframe people employed. Given a task, they'll _never_ find a non-mainframe solution. I saw this at my previous employer, where the company president told them to implement company-wide email (circa 1992). They spent $85K on a package and another $60K/year for a disaster called EMCC/TAO which was slow, lost mail, crashed the clients constantly, and had to be restarted on the mainframe daily to keep from crashing it (memory leak). This was after I recommended a solution for a couple of thousand $. EMCC/TAO was so bad that our managers and engineers used modems and their own ISPs with Hotmail, Yahoo, or AOL accounts so they could communicate reliably with customers. They seemed to go out of their way to sabotage any non-IBM networks, like the NetWare servers I supported.

netgeek

2. Nick 6
    Joke

@AC1

In the words of the Dilbert cartoon,

Here's a nickel kid, buy yourself a real computer**

**corrollary: licences sold separately.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Main frame creates lockin

Sure there is an argument to say it is cheaper to maintain as it is all one, but it doesn't really fly in the real world. It is better to build a varied interoperable network of computers that you can turn into a huge cluster if needed, that's a far better solution.

It is all going to smaller and many, not larger and one, it is more cost effective for more scenarios.