back to article Mac OS X gets rootkit coding manual

Over the past decade, the world has seen advances in rootkits running on Windows and Unix operating systems that few would have thought possible. Now, it's Mac OS X's turn, as a security researcher plans to share a variety of techniques for developing the ultra-stealthy programs for the Apple platform. At a talk titled …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Flame

Shouldn't be hard!

Most Mac users don't even know about simple stuff like Unix .filename "hidden" files, as Finder ( Explorer to Windows people ) doesn't show them and only way to get OSX to show hidden files in Finder is to type in a command at the, urggh, command line!

About time people started looking at Mac security more seriously, too much smugness about security in the Mac camp for my liking.

Me and my entire family all use Mac at home and working as a Unix admin, I am always lecturing them to not be too complacent about OSX's faux security. The nasty's can still get you if you let your guard down, despite what the Lord Jobs says!

2. alien anthropologist
    FAIL

Needs to be asked...

... who cares about OS/X root kits?

Macbois believe their beloved o/s invulnerable and are not interested in counter revolutionaries and their black OS/X propaganda.

The rest of us already have our fair share issues with Windows and Linux. And we sure as hell do give a job's liver about OS/X either.

Rootkits for OS/X..? yawn.. fart.. belch..

We. Just. Don't. Care. (unless there are some half naked women involved, or beer, Paris, aliens, or more Soviet Brittan exposé or any combination thereof)

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

RE: Shouldn't be hard

AC wrote: "Me and my entire family all use Mac at home and working as a Unix admin, I am always lecturing them to not be too complacent about OSX's faux security. The nasty's can still get you if you let your guard down, despite what the Lord Jobs says!"