back to article Terry Waite backs McKinnon

Former Beirut hostage Terry Waite has spoken out against attempts to extradite self-confessed Pentagon hacker Gary McKinnon to face a US trial. Waite, who since his release in 1991 has become a human rights and police campaigner, argues that the US military should thank McKinnon for exposing security holes in its systems. …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Looks like McKinnon is headed for the U.S.

With the U.K. not pressing charges, it looks like McKinnon is headed to the U.S. to face charges.

2. Ash

Do we have a location?

I'd be interested in showing my support for the chap outside the courtroom, inside if they have a gallery.

3. Nigel Callaghan
    Stop

Private prosecution?

I Am Not A Lawyer but - The CPS are refusing to prosecute, but what would happen if some helpful soul started a private prosecution in the UK for what he is accused of? Would that delay any extradition process? What would happen if the prosecution failed and so he was acquited in a British court? What if it succeeded and he was found guilty (or pleaded guilty) and was sentenced? Either way, can he be extradited for an offence of which he has been convicted or acquited in the UK? Sounds like double jeopardy. The CPS website notes that they have the right to take over a private prosecution and discontinue it, but only for very clear reasons - insufficient evidence, not in the interests of justice etc.

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Really?

"No nation under the sun ought to convict an individual whose behaviour is occasioned by illness"

So when a paranoid schizophrenic goes on a killing spree we stick them on medication and let them go? I know it's an extreme example, but it's covered by Mr Waite's statement (always assuming he hasn't been misquoted or quoted out of context).