back to article BT freezes wages for 100,000

British Telecom is freezing wages for all its 100,000 UK staff in a "head on" response to the economic downturn. A BT spokesman said: “BT can confirm that, after careful consideration, there will be no pay rises as a result of this year’s review of salaries. This will apply to all UK employees, including BT’s most senior …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Unhappy

Hoopy... I'm impressed... honestly

No pay rises? Oh big wow.

As a professional electronics engineer I have received 3 pay rises in 10 years, all from quitting and moving onwards! Full on commercial entities (and I'm not talking the likes of behmoths like BT) have had pay freezes on and off for the last decade. This is neither new nor impressive.

Why should BT's efforts in reducing bonuses and freezing pay impress us? Maybe if they stopped shelling out for f*ckwittery like Phorm and started providing a decent service in general, people might not be legging it in droves from their Internet side of the business, but since this is still an organisation that suffers from Civil Service grade bureaucracy and ineptitude, it's not going to sort itself out any time soon.

So glad I no longer have shares in them!

2. Adam
    Unhappy

title

"a pay cut in those circumstances is an insult to staff"

A pay-freeze is not a pay cut. You could argue that not getting a payrise effectively loses you money in relation to inflation but the retail price index, used by many companies to determine paryrise amount and the real rate of inflation is currently at 0.1% so no real loss there either.

3. Andy Barber
    Thumb Down

Industrial Action

So a profitable company is forcing its Unions into Industrial Action in the middle of the 'credit crunch.' Does this look like a sensible thing to do?

4. Elmer Phud

Slight change