back to article Heartland data breach hit 160 banks (and rising)

More than 160 banks have been affected by the information security breach at US payment processor Heartland Security. Heartland admitted that on 20 January, while US attention was on the Obama presidential inauguration, that a breach in its processing systems last year led to the disclosure of an unspecified number of customer …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Thumb Down

It Had to Happen.. and Will Agian

Retailers are at the mercy of credit card transaction processing companies. I work in IT at a large retailer and the credit processing company has installed software that handles and transmits the card and customer information to its servers. We are not allowed to look at the source code running on our servers. We (have to) trust the company but what about the programmers they used? Was code contracted out to third world or eastern European shops? There should be laws in place that ensure data breaches like this result in criminal prosecution of the executives in charge. Maybe then someone at these credit card data processing firms will take security seriously.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Maybe

Heartland Security needs to add two letters to its name?

3. Khalid Khan
    IT Angle

This could have been prevented