back to article Force 1800 superhurricanes snapped on far-off world

Californian astronomers have used a NASA orbital telescope to generate unique "photorealistic" imaging of a planet nearly 200 lightyears away while it swung close by its parent star, causing an "explosion" of terrifically powerful atmospheric storms as the far-off world heated up to 1200°C. The blue is sunlight: the red is the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Secretgeek
    Thumb Up

Although I'm no scientist...

..it's things like this that make me love science. Force 1800 storms on a planet 190 light years away (seriously, get your calculator out and work out the miles) that's scooting at a right pace around it's parent sun in a weird orbit?

Awesome.

Nice one distant-planet-gazing-boffin-type-dudes.

2. Richard

'These images are not artists' impressions'

No, but they are simulated.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

maths

The scale is logrithmic so 5000 m/s is force 12*log(5000)/log(32) = 29.5. Not as good a headline, I'll grant you.

4. Anonymous Coward
    Boffin

This is all well and good

but let's not forget that all this stuff was going on nearly 200 years ago, so who knows what it looks like now

5. Richard Pennington
    Boffin

Orbital period is miscalculated!

The parent star is a dwarf of spectral class G5, a little less massive than the Sun. The orbital period is listed as 111.78 days (plus or minus 0.21 days): see http://www.obspm.fr/encycl/HD80606.html

If the orbital period was less than a day, the orbit ... all of it ... would have to be much closer to the star.

6. Richard_C
    Flame

Scientists impression

A blue sunrise through a red atmosphere, so that would be some kind of Purple Haze effect... Hmm, i feel a thunderous solo coming on. Now, wheres my lighter fluid.

7. Winkypop Silver badge
    Thumb Down

Naff

Very naff indeed.

8. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

@Richard Pennington