back to article When you play the game of Big Spendy Thrones, nobody wins – your crap chair just goes missing

Like the unwanted early morning return of last night's spiced food, Monday is here once again. Take your mind off it with an unsolved mystery courtesy of The Register's weekly Who, Me? column. Today's tale comes from a Reg reader who, to protect the self-proclaimed innocent, we'll call Will. Will's story begins in the early ' …

1. Pascal Monett Silver badge

"disk drives the size of top-loading washing machines"

I worked with those once, way back at the beginning of my career. I was an operator on a Bull DPS-7. I can tell you one thing : when the heads on those babies crash, you do not need the console to tell you.

1. Tromos

Re: "disk drives the size of top-loading washing machines"

The ones I worked with in the 70s were more like a chest of drawers (imagine 2 deep drawers) that held a pair of disk packs. A junior operator was tasked with changing the upper pack and quite correctly checked that the spin light was off before yanking the drawer open. A quick-thinking shift leader supervising the operation quickly yanked him away, probably saving serious injury at minimum as a couple of kilograms of furiously spinning pack popped upwards out of the drive drawer. A couple of days later company engineers fitted a field change order altering the spin light to a safe-to-open light so that a dead bulb wouldn't result in possible fatalities!

The errant pack fell back into the drawer, destroying itself and the drive mechanism and had a good go at inflicting hearing damage to those in the vicinity.

1. Muscleguy

Pah! you computer nerds. Try Biology and big VERY fast spinning centrifuges. The things so sensitive to imbalance you have to use a balance sensitive to less than 1/10g to ensure all your tubes were the same weight, within reasonable tolerances.

I have also had to clean a centrifuge block after a glass tube decided to self destruct during the spin.