back to article Self-taught Belgian bloke cracks crypto conundrum that was supposed to be uncrackable until 2034

A cryptographic puzzle proposed two decades ago that involves roughly 80 trillion squarings has been cracked much earlier than expected – in just three and a half years. We say cryptographic because it involves a verifiable delay function [PDF], a moderately hard cryptographic function. The conundrum was set by Ronald Rivest …

1. Rich 11
    Pint

Well done (see icon)

Belgian, naturally.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Well done (see icon)

The NSA probably completed the task days after it was originally proposed, but telling the world would have caused panic.

1. NoneSuch Silver badge

Days?

"He believed that a single computer would have to be running for 35 years continuously, where the hardware would have to be upgraded every year to the next fastest chip available."

The NSA have multiple clusters of Cray computers and the best mathematicians in the world. Assuming they didn't have backdoor access, it would take them minutes of computer time.

1. Chris 244
          FAIL

Re: Multiple Clusters

RTFA. Multiple clusters won't help.

1. Anonymous Coward
            Alien

Re: Multiple Clusters

But the alien quantum computer they have could....

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

It is rather NSA completing the task the day before it was published that would really cause the panic.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Machismo, Intellect, Nationality

A younger relative is a keen chess player and heavy metal afficianado.

On a trip to Belgium, he visited a heavy metal club with a somewhat charged atmosphere including a lot of skinheads not obviously there to discuss flower arranging.

All round the walls were tables with a chessboard in the middle with games happening on most of them, apparently to quite a high standard of play.

Being able to think well did not automatically classify one as an oddball minority.