back to article The first ZX Spectrum prototype laid bare... (What? It was acceptable in the '80s)

The Saints of Silicon at the Centre for Computing History have got hold of the original build of Sinclair's ZX Spectrum, courtesy of Kate and John Grant. Grant, who also worked on the guts of Sinclair's ZX80 and ZX81 (and can be heard talking about his experiences in Randy Kindig's Floppy Days podcast), donated the prototype …

1. sammy_mac

One of the purchases that got away still makes me wish I had the chance all over again: a ZX Spectrum with a huge set of accessories for $25. This was just over 3 decades ago in a thrift shop. As a grad student, I had to think carefully about the purchase, and I (over)thought to leave the Spectrum there. I hope someone that still treasures it made the purchase.

1. Persona Silver badge

I wonder if you had bought it could you now plug it into a compatible display? I'm not sure if any of my TV's still support an analogue TV aerial input.

1. Stoneshop
        Boffin

With a bit of tinkering

you could break out the input to the modulator and run it into a composite-to-VGA converter.

2. Dan 55 Silver badge

There's an easy fix to make 48K machines output composite instead of RF.

128K machines output RGB and can be converted to VGA.

2. defiler
    Coat

So it got delivered...

...faster and in better condition than a Vega+?

Too soon?

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: So it got delivered...

>So it got delivered......faster and in better condition than a Vega+?

The Vega was just being true to the original and laughable Sinclair promise of "Please allow 28 days for delivery"

I see from the picture and it's condition, it was eventually delivered by Amazon.

1. Duffy Moon

Mine took so long that my dad cancelled the order. It would be another 14 years before I had a computer of my own.

2. Dan 55 Silver badge

Note that says 28 days, not 28 months which is RCL's take on that.

1. Anonymous Coward