back to article Apple files yet another appeal against $503m FaceTime patent payout

Apple has filed its fifth appeal against a half-billion award, claiming that it redesigned its FaceTime system to avoid infringing VirnetX's network security patents. The filing is particularly timely given the fact that on Monday Apple blocked group Facetime chats globally after a bonkers bug was revealed that let miscreants …

1. Bush_rat
    Megaphone

I'm no Lawyer...

But if Apple had to change parts of FaceTime to ensure it was not violating the patent, it certainly would seem they violated the patent.

Also, appeals should work on a Double or Nuthin' system to prevent this endless abuse of the legal system.

Megaphone because the latest FaceTime bug turned nearly every Apple device into one.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: I'm no Lawyer...

I agree, if the damages were automatically doubled every time a corporation appealed and lost;

a/ these cases wouldnt drag on for years

b/ the courts would have time for "normal" legal issues; like finding trump guilty of treason and frying the moron; small "t", because he doesnt deserve a capital.

c/ Apple and similar serial patent abusers would go bust.

1. DerekCurrie

That's "the trump" to you!

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

I don’t know how the US legal system works, but wouldn’t it be a lot more interesting to have the “losing” party have to cough up legal fees for the “winning” party ? Especially in cases where the strategy seems to be “let’s drag this on until they go bankrupt”.

On topic : I had a quick look at the patents, and at the website of VirtnetX. What do they actually sell ?

2. Version 1.0 Silver badge

New iPhone coming soon ... a bargin at $1500

I'd always wondered but now at least now we all know why Apple products are so expensive, they have to pay off both the lawsuits and the lawyers ... expect an iPhone price increase soon to cover the latest round of "development" costs.