back to article I studied hard, I trained for years. Yay, now I'm an astronaut in space. Argggh, leukemia!

Floating silently among the stars may sound idyllic, but the longer you stay in space, the worse it is for your immune system, according to this latest research. NASA teamed up with boffins at the University of Arizona, University of Houston, and Louisiana State University, in the US, to analyse blood samples from eight …

1. Ole Juul

How does this compare?

It would be interesting to compare this to some of the jobs here on earth. I wouldn't be surprised if some are worse off.

1. Paul Kinsler

Re: compare this to some of the jobs here on earth. I

This is a very good point - however the comparison turns out, it would provide a point of reference to get a sense of what the additional risk might be.

"I don't mind being a coal miner, but becoming a career astronaut is far too risky!" :-)

2. Blazde Silver badge

Re: How does this compare?

Indeed. For starters the NK activity drop is not dramatically higher than observed in shift workers (and in subjects in sleep-deprivation studies). Unsurprisingly astronauts on-mission are routinely sleep-deprived too: https://www.thelancet.com/journals/laneur/article/PIIS1474-4422(14)70122-X/fulltext

It sounds like there could be some additional effect but it's strange this new study doesn't mention sleep once in 33 pages.

1. Alister

It sounds like there could be some additional effect but it's strange this new study doesn't mention sleep once in 33 pages.

That's because the scientists carrying out the study are looking for results that are NEW and EXCITING and SPAAAACE and WOO!, and anything so mundane as sleep deprivation doesn't fit into the narrative...

Sorry, I went a bit Bombastic Bob there.

3. bombastic bob Silver badge
      Thumb Up