back to article Microsoft delivers a second preview of Visual Studio 2019 (a Redmond thing we actually like)

Developers rejoice! The second preview of Visual Studio 2019 is upon us and contains all manner of goodies for those brave enough to venture into the not-for-production environment. Little has changed on the IDE front which, to be frank, is no bad thing. The increase in coding space alone made the first preview a pleasant …

1. Bronek Kozicki

If I were a .NET web developer

... I would be excited about this part "debugging Alpine ASP.NET Core". Turns out that running ASP.NET core on Alpine is a thing that Microsoft actually wants developers to do!

2. AMBxx Silver badge
    Windows

On my wish list

I just have 2 requests:

1) Start in less than 2 minutes

2) Not have daily updates of all sorts of things I've never heard of

I'm just a simple C# developer.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: On my wish list

Visual Studio 2017 takes less than 10 seconds to start on my aging desktop machine. It's quite possible the SSD system drive helps there, but if you don't have one of those already you should re-evaluate your life choices. ;). Seriously though, it's possible you have an extension that's taking more time than it should to organise itself and start in a timely manner.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

"Visual Studio 2017 takes less than 10 seconds to start on my aging desktop machine. It's quite possible the SSD system drive helps there"

It takes about 10s to start, and another 20s to actually be usable (i.e. news, recent projects, etc, to be populated) on my work-issued laptop (i7-4600U, 16GB DDR3, & Samsung 850 EVO).

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

Ah, I always hide the news section in the start page - it's not like I'm going to ever read it. :)

It's strange your recent projects list takes so long to populate though. My projects aren't even on the SSD and I rarely notice having to wait for them to appear.