back to article Drink this potion, Linux kernel, and tomorrow you'll wake up with a WireGuard VPN driver

The developer of WireGuard has laid the groundwork for plugging his open-source privacy tool directly into the Linux kernel in hope of making secure communications easier to deploy and manage. Jason Donenfeld, creator of WireGuard and the founder of Edge Security, on Tuesday submitted a proposed set of patches to the Linux …

1. DavidD

I'm not an expert but I'm thinking "Not a chance."

"WireGuard is not yet complete. You should not rely on this code. It has not undergone proper degrees of security auditing and the protocol is still subject to change. We're working toward a stable 1.0 release, but that time has not yet come." - https://www.wireguard.com/

I'm super interested in this project and even been thinking about testing it out at home. Now I'm not a linux expert, or even involved in the kernel development process but I'm pretty sure software needs to be stable to be added to the kernel.

Certinaly the team over at Netgate/pfSense think so >> "It will never be a "high priority feature" until they actually make a proven secure/stable release." - https://forum.netgate.com/topic/132375/installing-wireguard-vpn/5

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: I'm not an expert but I'm thinking "Not a chance."

I'm very hyped as well !

OpenVPN always had me totally freaked out by using OpenSSL.

2. petur

Re: I'm not an expert but I'm thinking "Not a chance."

Jason seems to be overly cautious, I've been running it on my Ubiquity ER-X and Android phone and this thing rocks. In terms of speed and stability, it leaves OpenVPN and the likes far behind.

What stands out most: enabling it doesn't involve any connection at all, zero battery drain. But when it notices you try to reach the configured network, it will pack your packets and send them off.

Since both Linus and Greg are a big fan of WireGuard, chances that it gets merged are the full 100%