back to article Sysadmin's PC-scrub script gave machines a virus, not a wash

Welcome again to “Who, me?”, The Register’s confessional column in which readers reveal their mistakes*. This week meet “Chad”, who told us that “Very early in my career, while I was still in community college, I worked as a computer lab assistant at the school.” His assistance was needed because students did all sorts of …

1. 45RPM Silver badge

When I was at Uni, there was a Mac SE FDHD installed as a gate guardian at the entrance to each computer room. No keyboard or mouse was connected to it and the idea was that you’d insert your floppy disk into the Mac, it would scan the disk (for DOS and Mac viruses) using I don’t know what AV package, and then return your cleaned, safe, disk for you to use in the lab.

For all I knew, it did nothing but provide a false sense of security. But it provided that false sense of security very well - provided that there wasn’t a queue of students waiting to use it. If that happened we all had a sense of the fsck-its and it’s amazing that we didn’t have an epidemic.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

A security point that everyone trusts and uses is the perfect target to try to compromise.

2. Korev Silver badge
      Mushroom

We used to have McAfee on our Uni NT4 machines, it used to slow the PCs down so much that most people just disabled it (I have no idea how/why this was possible).

We need a John Mcafee icon, ideally one from his uninstall video with the guns, girls and "bath salts" (NSFW).

Until then we'll just have to use this -->

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

"We used to have McAfee on our Uni NT4 machines, it used to slow the PCs down so much that most people just disabled it"

Safe mode > Right Click > Delete*

Yes it was that easy in those days.

*Sometimes you could even just delete it without safe mode booting, or even just kill the service.

2. Wade Burchette