back to article Crappy Christmas! Dixons Carphone dials back profit expectations

Dixons Carphone has slashed full-year profit estimates amid continued downward pressure on mobile phone margins over the Christmas quarter and "more cautious consumer" spending in the UK. In a Q3 trading update, DixCar confirmed group revenue was up 4 per cent year-on-year during the 10 weeks to January fuelled by trade in …

1. Zippy's Sausage Factory

Maybe this is part of the trend of people just buying a phone and doing a sim only deal with their network, rather than dumping themselves in debt for years. There's an awful lot of cheap, but very usable landfill-price level Androids out there now. You can order a halfway decent Android off various web shops for £50 nowadays...

1. tmTM

and the price

The latest tech has never been cheap, but the most recent batch of I-things took people's breath away.

Clearly if the latest phone is over a grand most people are holding onto their current one for longer because they aren't willing to pay that kind of money.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

What?! Are you actually suggesting that the problem is market glut and not the media's favorite foozle? Scandalous!

2. adam payne

Maybe some people have finally realised that they don't need the latest phone or gadget to feel successful.

1. Elmer Phud

Some, yes.

you'll never get rid of the 'ME FIRST!!' people - though they can be handy for picking up last months flavour really cheap.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

In other words, if it is working and still does the job why change it.

3. mrdalliard
    Pint

I'd also imagine that new iPhone users would now go to an Apple Store instead, as the separate cost of phone and sim are cheaper than being fleeced by a reseller for a standard two-year overpriced contract. I've did it for my last iPhone purchase and it saved me a significant amount per month.

Beer with the savings.

4. Salestard