back to article Sloppy coding + huge PSD2 changes = Lots of late nights for banking devs next year

Poorly written code is leaving banks at greater risk of attack and poorly prepared for big changes in the financial sector due to come into effect early next year. CAST, an organisation that reviews the quality of code for businesses, recently reviewed over 278 million lines of code and reveals that out of 1,388 applications, …

1. Steve Button Silver badge

"malicious actors"

Like Kevin Spacey?

1. WolfFan Silver badge

Re: "malicious actors"

More like Mel "I hate everything English" Gibson.

2. IneptAdept

Poorly written code is not down to the language *cough* PHP *cough* but the developer

As a developer I deal with legacy code bases and to be fair all can be terrible or all can be good, It is not down to the language that is used but the developer.....

Unless we are talking about PHP then that is the languages fault

1. Professor Clifton Shallot

Re: Poorly written code is not down to the language *cough* PHP *cough* but the developer

I agree but Microsoft go to great lengths to provide good tools to allow bad developers to get more bad work done.

1. IneptAdept

Re: Poorly written code is not down to the language *cough* PHP *cough* but the developer

While this is true, At least you have someone with a good tool set, good guides etc

I can develop PHP on my phone, is not normally taught or learnt with best practices in mind etc etc

At the end of the day all languages are susceptible to this, But in a commercial environment I see much more devastating code from PHP and its variants then I have .NET

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

I'm sure if you look pre .NET at VB5 / VB6 code you'll find the same horror show.

1. Lysenko

I'm sure if you look pre .NET at VB5 / VB6 code you'll find the same horror show.