back to article If we could just get a word in Edgewise... New kid says it can do data center firewalls better

Edgewise Networks launched on Wednesday with a project to reengineer the firewall and make it suitable for cloud-based environments by moving beyond traditional address-centric controls. The US startup's so-called Trusted Application Networking technology is designed to block the spread of network-borne threats by allowing …

1. really_adf

It sounds like this is something like "anti-spam for the network". (It's 2017, so also "with machine learning" of course.)

Anti-spam is never perfect and inevitably either blocks some legitimate mail and/or allows some spam through.

In this case the equivalent behaviour of blocking legitimate traffic does not sound much fun to diagnose, and of allowing some bad traffic does not sound very effective...

What am I missing?

1. 78910

Rather than 'anti-spam for network', maybe this is more like 'selinux for network'?

I'm not an expert in either but that's what it sounds like to me. Who can elaborate more?

2. Robert Helpmann??
      Childcatcher

What am I missing?

The devil is in the details and we only have an executive summary. It looks like an interesting tool, but I would want to know how much training and time it would take to implement, how it will scale, how well it can be tuned (to your comment concerning error rates, really_adf), what kind of overhead it will impose on equipment and how much maintenance is required once it is put in place. This certainly does not sound like a fire and forget sort of application. Also, since it is a very young tech, I would expect there to be the sorts of issues that any new software brings.

3. NS27

NS

(Disclaimer: I work for Edgewise)