back to article IBM freezes contractor hires to keep full-time workers fully occupied

More evidence that IBM is cutting costs in multiple ways: the company's Australian tentacle is making it very, very hard to hire contractors. The Register has viewed emails sent among organisations seeking to place contractors with IBM Australia. The thread explains that IBM has not replied to offers of new contractors because …

1. a_yank_lurker

Yawn

Why do these measures sound like the initial stages of the of the Titanic sinking? Declining sales and profits, cost cutting measures, hiring freezes, etc.

1. TonyJ

Re: Yawn

Because it pretty much is. If they don't get their act together they will find they're way too far down the death spiral to pull out.

From all this news...might be there already.

However, speaking as a contractor, I can fully appreciate any company is going to favour permies over us. That's just common sense as long as it doesn't harm the project.

1. imanidiot Silver badge

You don't PULL out of a death spiral. That is the very definition of one. The way to get out is to roll to level, then pull the nose up to lose speed. What IBM is doing now IS pulling the stick, hard. Increasing the G forces until they black out and/or smash into the ground.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Why do these measures sound like the initial stages of the of the Titanic sinking?

Well, because it is, maybe? But if every proof were needed that IBM's Watson was a load of hyped up nonsense, sold to the gullible, this is it. I do presume that the sat at Watson's keyboard and typed in the obvious question:

Ginny: "We're shrinking, management are clueless, employees demotivated; Please, please chart us a strategy for profitable growth, Watson".