back to article Google's 'adblocker' is all about taking back control

The world's biggest digital advertising company Google is reportedly building an ad-blocker into Chrome – and it's already attracted the attention of Europe's most important competition regulator. The WSJ claimed the functionality could arrive in both desktop and mobile versions of Chrome, although a final decision on …

1. Your alien overlord - fear me

And even if they do push this out, still run your own HOSTS file to block the rubbish Google finds inoffensive !!!

1. William 3 Bronze badge

I recommend running a HOSTS solution at the router level

I've been running a-b solution on my Asus AC68U for several years now, since it was first developed on small network builder forums.

I really recommend it.

It protects every device in the house, including android phones.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

WUT

You'd have to do deep packet inspection for SNI. Do those consumer grade routers even have the guts for that?

2. TheVogon

Re: I recommend running a HOSTS solution at the router level

"I've been running a-b solution on my Asus AC68U"

How does that block adverts delivered via SSL - as many are now transitioning to?

1. Doctor Syntax Silver badge

"How does that block adverts delivered via SSL - as many are now transitioning to?"

You have your firewall open to incoming SSL?

1. TheVogon

"You have your firewall open to incoming SSL?"

Yes - as a response to outgoing SSL. Otherwise browsing would be a bit tricky...

2. TheVogon

Hosts files are not generally effective for blocking adverts. The same host often serves more than just adverts...

2. MajorDoubt
    WTF?

If you are using chrome, you are already a idiot

trusting google with anything, doh!

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: If you are using chrome, you are already a idiot

@MajorDoubt Does that include everything Google make? Chromebooks, Android?

3. Throatwarbler Mangrove Silver badge
    Facepalm