back to article Why are creepy SS7 cellphone spying flaws still unfixed after years, ask Congresscritters

Two of the most technically literate US politicians want to know why America's Homeland Security is dragging its feet over SS7 security flaws in our mobile phone networks. The Signaling System 7 protocol is used to, among other things, interconnect cellphone networks. It was developed in the 1980s and has virtually no security …

1. This post has been deleted by its author

1. Kernel

Re: Why do we still have the traditional cell infrastructure anyway?

Yes, and the internet is just a great big cloud that magically transports data from A to B.

Spend a few years working in the engineering side of the telco industry and then come back at tell those of us who do have that experience how simple it should all be.

1. Jtom

Yep. I was a voice architect when VOIP was added to data networks. Went round and round with the data architects over packet loss and delay, and requirements for end-to-end quality, particularly across multiple networks. We voice guys lost the battle. That's why cell phones are great for everything - but making a voice call.

2. HereIAmJH

Many of the radios have already been replaced during the LTE rollout. And it doesn't free up any spectrum because the growth of data means all the spectrum gets refarmed as quickly as possible to support LTE.