back to article Chrome dev explains how modern browsers make secure UI just about impossible

Google Chrome engineer Eric Lawrence has described the battle of browser barons against the 'line of death', an ever-diminishing demarcation between trusted content and the no-man's land where phishers dangle their poison. The line, Lawrence (@ericlaw) says, is a conceptual barrier between content that browser developers …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

HTML5 can do WHAT?!

I'm not a coder, and on this subject am essentially 100% a user, but - HTML5 can force a browser into full-screen mode? What kind of cretin ever thought THAT was a good idea?! I'm apalled!

As a user, my attitude is 'my browser, it goes full-screen only if and when I tell it to - which is never, in my case. This may explain a couple of times I've found myself having to reboot due to what seemed to me to be a browser fault. I'd presumed I'd somehow accidentally sent the browser full-screen (everything's so bloody twitchy in feel these days, with umpty-zillion ways of invoking this or that feature you didn't even know existed, much less care about) so a quick F11 - nada. Couldn't get out of fullscreen, couldnt get at my desktop, three-fingered salute didnt work, only option was to power off and reboot. And this on a Linux box.

Gah. No, I'm not interested in the arguments put foward for websites being enabled to force fullscreen - it's a shitheaded decision, and there's an end to it. It's this kind of fuckwittery that has made what was once an interesting and exciting subject - IT - into a boody awful and tedious consumer of precious hours of my life NOT doing fun things that I won't ever get back on all too many occasions.

</mardyoldbiddyrantingoffintothesunset>

1. Charles 9

Re: HTML5 can do WHAT?!