back to article Li-ion tamers: Boffins build battery with built-in fire extinguisher

Researchers at Stanford University say they have developed a method for building fire-extinguishing materials into standard lithium-ion batteries. The nine researchers behind the paper to be published in the journal Science Advances say that by packing flame-retardant triphenyl phosphate (TPP) into the battery pack behind a …

1. Voland's right hand Silver badge
    Black Helicopters

Phopsphoro-organics

I wonder, does mentally adding some fluorine when seeing a formula of a phosphor-organic compound count as a thought crime... Probably I should stop wondering, I already hear the sound of black helicopters outside.

On a less humorous note - I frankly have some doubts about "low toxicity" of anything which has phosphorus and organics. Probably, it is because I studied chemistry when we had the VX family as a part of the "toxicology" (freshly renamed from "chemical warfare agents") course. Thankfully, it no longer had the lab part (*).

(*) You make only one mistake when synthesizing this stuff. It is usually your last

1. ldm

Re: Phopsphoro-organics

You've probably seen this before, but I still find it funnier than I should.

1. Oengus
        1. Ugotta B. Kiddingme
          Unhappy

Re: Obligatory XKCD reference

Unfortunately, the people of Boston, Massachusetts might have a comment or two about "the worst thing that can happen if you misuse a pressure cooker." Granted the original XKCD question specified "in a kitchen" but still...

2. Gotno iShit Wantno iShit

Thanks Idm, enjoyed that.

In the same vein: Ignition!

3. Vinyl-Junkie

@Idm

Thank you for that link; I hadn't seen it before and just spent an entertaining half-hour reading that and several articles linked from it.

2. Jim Mitchell

To be fair, the article does say "less toxic", not "low toxicity".

2. Dwarf

A couple of side effects

Slightly tongue in cheek, but here goes ..