back to article Simpsons creator Matt Groening once drew Mac heaven for Apple

Welcome to another edition of Conference Couture, in which we relive odd moments of technology history through the branded tat given away at trade shows. This week, one for the Apple completists. Back in 1989 Apple was huge in education. But wanted to be huger, by getting university students to buy more Macs. And what better …

1. Pen-y-gors

I don't like to mention this but....

Copyright? It's a great cartoon and I can see lots of people thinking about heading off to their local T-shirt printer clutching a USB stick...Not that any (extremely law-abiding) El Reg commentards would think of any such blatant copyright violation of course.

1. wikkity

Re: I don't like to mention this but....

They only show a fraction of the image so it's more like a quote from a text, should fall under fair use.

1. Dave 126 Silver badge

Re: I don't like to mention this but....

Also, though I am not an IP lawyer, it would seem anything printed in a T-shirt might be captured in a photograph of a crowd... it seems unfair if that photographer couldn't distribute his photograph because he'd unwittingly snapped a pic of a copyrighted image on someones clothes.

2. John Sager

Early Groening

I first saw a Matt Groening cartoon in the early 80s, well before 'The Simpsons'. The next door office had 'The Nine Types of Bosses' from the 'Work is Hell' series on the wall.