back to article Before Bitcoin, digital cash was called Beenz – all that's left is a T-shirt

A couple of weeks back we wrote about the plan to have Oracle's NetBeans Java IDE become an Apache project and in an attempt to get some perspective on the move asked friend of the Regand former OpenStack board member Tristan Goode what he thought. Tristan's response? “The last NetBeans I remember was these in my old industry …

1. Gordon 10

Ppshaw

The first digital cash in the UK at least was called Mondex.

1. Simon Sharwood, Reg APAC Editor (Written by Reg staff)

Re: Ppshaw

Stored value ≠ digital cash.

I sat next to a Mondex chap on a long flight once. I told him I was a tech journo. He was quite pleased. Over the next hour he tried to explain why Mondex mattered. I just didn't get it. The rest of the flight was frosty.

1. Paul 25

We had Mondex on our ID/library card at York university when I was a student. In theory, at the time, it was an interesting idea, you could load your card at cash machines or pay phones on campus, societies could take payment from them with a little calculator style transfer machine, and you could pay for anything on campus (including the payphones and a few local shops) with it.

But it was so, so, sooooo slow. I don't think anyone ever tried to use Mondex at a busy college bar more than once.

Had it been remotely as fast as contactless credit card payments it could have found a niche somewhere, but petty much everyone fell back to using cash.

Nowadays of course it's been made utterly irrelevant by contactless payments. In a world where we have almost ubiquitous internet connections this kind of digital cash solves a problem that doesn't really exist any more.

1. ThomH

Being a York undergraduate that just caught the tail end of Mondex, I'd describe it as this: an additional step, involving an additional machine, in getting your laundry done. An early lesson that extra technology does not always help.

2. phuzz Silver badge