back to article Punters want heart-throbs, not brains, when thinking wrist-jobs

Basic wearables are what the people want, according to box-counter IDC. The firm's latest Worldwide Quarterly Wearable Device Tracker suggests the world treated itself to 22.5 million wearables in the second quarter of 2016, and found that “Basic wearables (devices that do not support third party applications) grew 48.8 per …

1. Byz

Trust me I'm a Doctor...

Did an article about these basic monitors and it showed that all of them were useless if you wanted a true measure of your heart rate. They work by trying to see when the blood moves through your veins.

The only way to get a proper reading is to strap a device to your chest and measure electrical signals to the heart.

In the end they recommended getting a watch, put pressure on your wrist and measure it yourself, looks like apple got the watch part right ;)

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Trust me I'm a Doctor...

I don't use any of the "monitor my running" style devices as I can't see a need for them. I count my steps as a way of keeping pace and I know my routes by heart anyway. To be honest, at my level, I can't see what I'd get from monitoring my heart rate anyway.

However, I have used a free app on my phone to check my heart rate when I had a health problem last year. I was surprised to find it was accurate, I tested it against those hospital finger heart monitors and the doctor using a watch..... always spot on. I used it over a two year period with monthly checks against the doctor who used the traditional watch method and a finger based sensor.

I got the same results on two different phones running different Android versions. I've no idea if this is par for the course or if I was just lucky... interesting though.

I also used a step counting app to work out my lunch time walking route and it was surprisingly accurate too. It reported 1.9km when road signs said it was 2km, which is close enough for me.