back to article BT best provider for 10Mbps USO, says former digi minister Ed Vaizey

BT's Openreach is the internet provider best placed to deliver the government's plan for a Universal Service Obligation (USO) of 10Mbps by the end of the decade, former digital minister Ed Vaizey has said. Speaking to The Register, Vaizey said: "I think if you want the most effective, quickest and likely-to-be-delivered …

1. hplasm
    Meh

Has-been talks bollocks.

Film at eleven.

1. Vimes

Re: Has-been talks bollocks.

Has-been looking for directorship at BT talks bollocks.

FTFW

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Has-been talks bollocks.

> Has-been talks bollocks.

He's a politician - he has phorm

2. Vimes

I wonder if he's after a non-executive directorship, much like Patricia Hewitt before him? Or maybe his view has been shaped by Trade Ministers like Ian Livingston (who themselves used to head BT)?

On a note entirely related note, it's funny how there seems to be revolving doors between big business and government.

Even within government itself there are moves that seem a bit doogy. Take IoCCO and the more secretive Intelligence Services Commissoner for example: Jo Cavan used to head IoCCO, now she's moving to NTAC at the same time that both IoCCO and the Intelligence Services Commissoner are merging. NTAC is run by GCHQ. GCHQ is supposedly overseen in part by the Intelligence Services Commissoner.

So at the same time that IoCCO is merging with the government regulator overseeing GCHQ, the head of IoCCO effectively moves to GCHQ.

1. Blitheringeejit
      Holmes

Revolving doors

For an exhaustive (and depressingly lengthy) list, see "The Establishment And How They Get Away With It" by Owen Jones. Essential reading for anyone who isn't already totally cynical.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Re: Revolving doors

It's been a long time since UK was free of all pervasive corruption.

2. Commswonk