back to article Deloitte coughs up $11m to end claims it ripped off US govt with IT work

Deloitte will pay $11m to settle allegations it overcharged the US government for IT services. The US Department of Justice (DoJ) said on Tuesday it has struck a deal with Deloitte, which was accused of – and we're paraphrasing, here – treating Uncle Sam's General Services Administration (GSA) as a bottomless pit of cash. The …

1. Herby

Gouging the government??

While many contractors do take advantage of our wonderful government, it goes the other way as well. The many hoops and delays in the government procurement process can (and do) add up to real costs.

Now I have no knowledge of what Deloitte did, I sometimes wonder if some of the added costa are brought on by the government itself.

Good luck getting a government agency to admit it though!

1. Crazy Operations Guy

Re: Gouging the government??

From what I heard, the problem was that when bills were calculated and sent out for the financial years, the government's bill was finalized and sent before some of the private sector customers got their discounts and bills sent to them. So when the bill was calculated the US Gov got the cheapest when they were billed, but then other customers ended up with discounts that made them cheaper.

I can't really blame them as the government is a pain in the ass to deal with, especially when getting bills approved and paid. With some departments, you pretty much have to bill them 2 years in advance so you can make it through all the auditing stages and have the bill accepted on time...

I swear, everyone at the GSA is just those old people in the grocery store checkout line that will argue for hours until the cashier accepts an expired coupon (from a different store) to reduce the bill by 3 cents.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Deloitte allegedly overcharged the US government