back to article India roasts as mercury hits 51°C

Those readers with a tendency to wilt with rising temperatures are advised to steer clear of the Indian state of Rajasthan, where the mercury yesterday hit a blistering 51°C. The city of Phalodi broke India's previous record of 50.6°C, registered in 1956, during a heatwave which has seen the country's north and west suffer …

1. RIBrsiq
    Flame

Many temperature and weather-related records being broken all over the planet, for some strange reason.

Not that this would lead to any wavering of the "Climate is Not Changing!" believer squad's beliefs, of course!

1. Anonymous Coward
      Boffin

Isn't it obvious?

I'm not a scientist but I do know this: if the planet is anything like my bedroom, then when I want to block out the sun, I close the curtains. You can't argue with that.

So surely what India needs is a blanket of smog over the country for a few months to block out the sun and let the country cool down. The chemicals in the rain will also have the useful side effect of cleaning the buildings and streets too, and people's hair and clothes. Because what are detergents if not chemicals?

So why oh why, do liberal do-gooder 'scientists' constantly call for a reduction in 'dirty' gasses. It's madness and worse, could affect house prices in my area!

1. Christoph

Re: Isn't it obvious?

Those scientists were obviously holding the thermometers upside down to fiddle the results - it's all part of the conspiracy!!!!!!!!!!!!

1. Naselus

This is why we need Lew Page back to aggressively misinterpret the results properly. He'd probably have run this with the headline "India reports 334th least cold year on record, exploding climate change lies"

1. Anonymous Coward
            Anonymous Coward