back to article Microsoft to make Xamarin tools and code free and open source

Microsoft will make Xamarin tools and code, which enable compilation of Mac, Android and iOS applications using C#, free and open source, said corporate VP Scott Guthrie at the company's Build conference under way in San Francisco. Xamarin's origins are with Mono, a project created by Miguel de Icaza as an open source and …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Think of it.

Think of it as Microsoft having a Visual Basic mindset here which is why the Community Edition of Visual Studio is included. I have absolutely no idea if/why that would work, but Hell, who does know?

2. Jim McDonald
    Thumb Up

Well done MS. Excellent news (if not entirely new)!

3. hellwig

Fantastic

As an hobbyist Android developer, I could never justify the cost of the tools related to porting software between platforms. I can only handle doing so much in Java before I just lose all will to live.

This does make me wonder, will Microsoft resurrect XNA, or perhaps embrace (in a positive way) MonoGame?

1. Nathan 6

Re: Fantastic

You do realize that Java (especially Java 8) and C# are pretty much identical from language standpoint right? So not sure why one would be viewed with distaste and the other not. Now you may want to argue about the JVM vs the CLR, but neither of those are found on Android/iOS.

In anycase, if you want to do crossplatform apps using Java checkout Codenameone.

1. Mage Silver badge

Re: Java (especially Java 8) and C# are pretty much identical

yes, C# was originally J++, MS idea of how Java should develop. I've got a copy somewhere. Sun didn't like that idea. So MS morphed it as C#, which might be one of the last decent bit of development they did. VS + C# is certainly more pleasant to develop than Eclipse or NetBeans + Java.