back to article Barclays and HBOS slash contractor rates

Barclays is cutting IT contractor rates by ten per cent across the group, less than a month after cutting 1,800 IT jobs. Back in May Barclays Capital forced contractors to take a ten per cent pay cut, and now the policy is being extended to the bank's global retail and commercial banking business. From 31 August, anyone who …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I got the call yesterday

I'm going to walk. Fuck 'em.

2. Nick Sargeant

Contracting versus Permanent Staff

I think that contractors should always be used as a flexible work force, that should be the first to be challenged when the squeeze is on. That flexibility should be used to protect the permanent staff - that's why permies accept the lower compensation - it's meant to bring them more job security. I don't have a problem with that - even though I am a contractor.

Contractors can always vote with their feet if they think that they are being unfairly squeezed; however, if they doubt that they could get a job elsewhere at a similar rate in the current climate, then maybe the bosses have got their sums right, and a 10% downshift is appropriate. BTW don't you think that 'slash' is a bit perjorative for a 10% reduction?

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Disappointed

C'mon John, finally an appropriate use for "Decimate" without all the whiners having a go!

4. Anonymous Coward
    Alert

Been there, done that

My lot (another bank) did the 10% cut a couple of months ago.