back to article SpaceX breaks capsule 'chute world record

A couple of days ago, SpaceX successfully tested its Crew Dragon capsule parachute system, as it advances towards manned vehicle certification as part of NASA's Commercial Crew Program. The Crew Dragon 'chute drop over Arizona was a quiet affair compared to the recent test of the next-generation fire-breathing Dragon 2, …

1. I ain't Spartacus Gold badge
    Happy

This one goes all the way up to 11...

1. MyffyW Silver badge

Spinal-knock

Seems a tad complicated to me, and probably as effective as Nigel Tufnel's knob.

But what do I know, I'm no rocket scientist.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

The correct number of parachutes to own is n+1

Maybe they're just building in redundancy - 3 is enough, 4 is better?

1. Dave 126 Silver badge

Re: The correct number of parachutes to own is n+1

Nah, it's like a four-leaved clover - it's luckier than the regular 3-leaved variety!

2. Voland's right hand Silver badge

It is - different redundancy models.

Soyuz has a full parachute backup for its one and only. Apollo could land (albeit quite bumpy) after losing a chute. 4 chutes look like adding an extra redundancy +1 to the existing 3 on the unmanned one to get the required reliability for man-rated landing.

1. Stoke the atom furnaces

"Apollo could land (albeit quite bumpy) after losing a chute."

Apollo 15 did loose a chute :-

http://www.universetoday.com/103983/apollo-15-stand-by-for-a-hard-impact/

3. Dave 126 Silver badge

Advanced alien technology?

The NASA Blog talks of "The mass simulator and parachutes were released thousands of feet above the ground from a C-130 cargo aircraft. "

By 'mass simulator', do they just mean a big weight, or have they some sort of Einstein-worrying technology? If the latter, what the hell are they doing messing around with rockets?!

- https://blogs.nasa.gov/commercialcrew/2016/01/27/spacex-tests-crew-dragon-parachutes/

1. allthecoolshortnamesweretaken