back to article Relay server attack tactic dupes auto-reporting

Sysadmins have begun noticing a coordinated attack on servers with open SSH ports that tries to stay under the radar by only attempting to guess a password three times from any compromised machine. Instead of mounting an attack form a single compromised host, hackers have worked out a means to relay a brute force attack between …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Linux

Nothing new, really

I've been observing my logs every morning since 2004, and I've seen this pattern occur as well, getting more common since last year: multiple usernames and daemons are knocked with a hope of an easy/non-existing password and then moving on or dropping attempts.

Other trick has been "obvious" usernames (which doesn't work so well since I live in a place where English-based names do not rule the roost; however, I've seen attacks tailored for the area as well, so the script-kiddies are definitely getting smarter and more aware of other cultures around them).

I've tried in a couple of cases to e-mail the owners of the attacking server (when it doesn't seem to originate from a non-dynamic address; solving who owns what dynamic address is a royal pain in the butt), but I've never gotten a reply back -- not even a nod of 'thanks for noticing'. Maybe the mail systems of the hijacked server are set to automatically filter and kill mails from the attacked systems? (If I were a blackhat, that's what I'd do...)

2. Geoff Johnson

Linux security.

I regularly get attempts to hack into my SSH server. Usually from things like Asterisk boxes with default passwords. I did notice a bit of an increase recently, couldn't say when though.

Anyway, should the world consider using randomized default passwords? I'm sure it would all but end this kind of attack.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Gates Halo

Any decent security admin would