back to article Banks unleash paper tigers over terror data probe

British banks have responded to European privacy watchdogs, who claim they broke the law by letting US anti-terror investigators have access to the details of their customers' international financial transactions. The banks have written letters to their customers, and claim this should be enough to put them in the clear. …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Andy S

data protection

I know its been a few years since i studied data protection law, but back then it was illegal to transfer data about a person to America without that persons express permission, as their data protection laws did not meet the required level for the EU. One of the case studies i had was even Amazon, as they have fallen foul of this one in the past.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Lock up SWIFT's CEO

If I was given access to all the bank transfer details, the first thing I would do is take a look at every politicians & family members, every journalists and ever civil servants bank transfers.

Imagine how much leverage you could have if you found anything on politicians around the world. I don't doubt for a second that Bush'es lot did exactly that when SWIFT opened up it's records to his CIA cronies.

The EU Commission is toothless and hasn't stopped it happening, the Belgies need to grab control of the matter and lock the CEO of SWIFT up. He broke Belgium banking secrecy law, it was a clear crime, yet he gets away with it.

3. SImon Hobson Bronze badge

Seems a simple solution to me ...

It could be done all so simply ...

There is no way whatsoever that SWIFT can protect data stored on servers in the US, no matter what any agreement might say. Therefore, it cannot be legal to transfer our data over there without our fairly obtained permission.