back to article That man told me to stuff a ROLE up my USER ENTRY!

“Who are you, again?” Well, that’s just great. I’ve been talking to tech support customer services for barely two minutes and already he’s forgotten my name. To be honest, I can hardly blame him, considering my own inability to memorise names instantly, as recounted in this column many times. Tell me your name and within 10 …

1. Warm Braw

"To question the managerial understanding of business processes"

That's your role, right there. Inquisitor.

You can probably get a chit for a comfy chair, too.

1. Destroy All Monsters Silver badge
      Gimp

There's a need for inquisition all right!

I tell him I’m none of those things: I am a freelance contractor, which makes me nobody’s boss and nobody’s servant.

Please sit down.

Are you, or have you ever been, an anarchist?

Do you believe in State, your savior?

2. TitterYeNot
      Coat

Re: "To question the managerial understanding of business processes"

"That's your role, right there. Inquisitor."

There you go, thats the problem in a nutshell. Tech support Customer services never expect a call from the serfish inquisition...

1. Anonymous Custard
        Headmaster

The usual answer to "What is your role" has to be either "minion" (which in this case would ironically have been right), "blame magnet", "unsung hero" or "ground zero", depending on situation and whom you are talking to (whether they have a sense of humour and/or the right to get you fired).

Either that or you just pick the role that has the rights/privs/access/whatever you need to actually get things done, although most of the time "miracle worker" seems not to be on the list when it's needed...

2. launcap Silver badge

>>"That's your role, right there. Inquisitor."

>There you go, thats the problem in a nutshell. Tech support Customer services never expect a call >from the serfish inquisition...