back to article Europe's first mobile WiMAX goes online

WorldMax has launched Europe's first mobile WiMax deployment, covering the centre of Amsterdam so that coffee-shop dwellers can surf the web without puzzling over plugs and wires, once they've got their PC-card connected. The deployment, which is being run by Alcatel-Lucent and part-financed by Intel, is operating in 80MHz of …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Max

HSDPA

Not necessary. I've been using HSDPA for about 2 months now. Speed is good, coverage is pretty much anywhere you get a mobile phone signal, and its cheap...I have a pay as you go, and 15 quid gets you 3 gigs over 30 days no contract.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Hmmmmm

Fair enough they are using 4000 sites at 900/1800 - but how many of those are street level or micro installs ? The issues you'll see with WiMax are going to require a higher level of nodes probably at street level to compensate for the loss and lack of penetration at 3.5GHz, but on the other hand your not really having to worry so much about the interoperability and mobility as you would on a fully deployed GSM/UMTS/HS*PA network.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

More to making this work than Wimax hardware...

In order to make this kind of thing work in the real world, you need more than hardware (base station and laptop). You need (for example) a co-operating network operator with a clue, and with money. Intel can help with the money - in the UK they funded Pipex Wireless's WiMax network [1], but whether Pipex Wireless had a clue remains to be seen, and in the UK the network was set up for fixed access. Countrywide roaming isn't quite the same as fixed access.

Probability of success: 0-30%.