back to article London Tech Week: All for the luvvies and the joke's on you, taxpayers

Yesterday morning I was on a stage listening to the Deputy Mayor of London and trying very hard not to look out of the window. I was the 39th floor of One Canada Square (you know, the building everyone always calls “Canary Wharf”), which had a great view over North London. If only I could sneak a peek, I was sure I'd be able …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Monkeys, banana plantation

Remember when the marketing types started trying to use technical jargon to go with their Powerbooks? "Interface" for "meet" was one example.

Now, because real technology is fashionable in some places - SF, Cambridge, - they are trying to adopt the entire sector as their word of choice. I'm not some marketing drone who writes reports on sales by region, I'm a tech worker.

The problem comes (and accelerated my own retirement) when these people decide that, because they know a few buzzwords, they are qualified to make technical decisions. And indeed spend money intended for technology investment on...vague social media websites.

1. N2

Re: Monkeys, banana plantation

Oh yes,

I'll pick that up and run with it!

I always used to try & think of a witty answer to those stupid remarks...

"We'll collect some low hanging fruit"

To which I replied, "I think you've been staring at Sallys tits for far to long", went down a storm, may not get away too lightly now.

Name changed to protect the innocent & no offence intended if your name happens to be Sally or you have nice breasts.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

I guess that type of "low hanging-fruit" will go nicely with "dog-years".

I'll get my coat.

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

> I always used to try & think of a witty answer to those stupid remarks...