back to article Microhoo! what's! going! on?

Microsoft is laying aside $1.5bn to keep Yahoo! staff happy and at their desks should the takeover go through. The cash was revealed in court documents from last month. The figure comes from a transcript of a hearing held on 24 March (available here). But lawyers noted that the figure for staff retention could also include the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. John Dooley
    Happy

Its the Open Source Stupid

Its all about shutting down a rather large and highly visible and infectious Open Source shop.

A year after this goes down, there will be no more Yahoo Open Source resources free and available to all, it will be history.

Rule number 231 of robber barron kapitalism, if you can't beat something in the market place, buy it and shut it down.

2. John Macintyre
    Unhappy

business is business

I don't get it. I work in banking too so I really should get it. Stop me if I go wrong:

M$ says to Yahoo! 'here's a wad, we own you'.

Yahoo! say no.

M$ says 'here's a larger wad. we have to own you. if you say no we'll sue you into owning you'

Yahoo! sticks two fingers up and says no

M$ takes Yahoo! to court to force it to accept.

surely the whole point of these things is that both sides agree? if one doesn't agree then that's it. have yahoo already accepted or signed something? I must have missed half of this debacle but surely it's like me saying to someone 'heres a wad for your car (more than the car value)', they say no they like the car, you sue them to force them to sell it to you. WTF?

I'll go back to my crunch

3. Fuion
    Alert

Microhoo! -->

<HOORAY beer!>

4. Spleen

@John