back to article Mozilla takes wraps off 25 DOLLAR Firefox OS smartphone

Ever in search of the next few billion people who will access the internet for the first time in the coming years, Mozilla has unveiled a reference design of a smartphone that it says could sell for as low as $25 (£15). The entry-level prototype running Mozilla's Linux-and-HTML-based Firefox OS was unveiled at the Mobile World …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Gordon 10

be afraid

holey moley - if this thing takes off its going to have a lot of the established players running scared. talk about bringing smartphones to everyone

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: be afraid

As I've been posting here for several years, usually to point out how meaningless "smartphone market share" is, soon every phone will be a smartphone.

The bottom price for feature phones I've seen reported is $20, this would pretty much be the nail in the coffin for feature phones. They'll quit making them by the end of this year, run through existing stock by the end of next year, and by 2016 they'll be pretty much gone.

2. solo

Re: be afraid

$25 phone with one of the best browsers in the planet.

A good news for web developers that masses will see them how they intended to be.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Superb

If this pricepoint is true, we'll see a true democratistion of communications.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

"single-core ARM Cortex-A5 CPU clocked at 1GHz with 1GB LPDDR1 RAM and 2GB NAND flash storage. It supports screen resolutions up to HVGA (640 by 240), or QVGA (320 by 240) on devices fitted with QWERTY keyboards..."

Jesus. Is that $25 price stand-alone? I would kind of presume so since I wouldn't imagine that emerging markets tend to use the same contract system that the west does, but I really don't know... if that's the walk-in-and-plunk-it-on-the-counter price, that's just insane.