back to article WAIT! What's that sound? It's Intel stomping into the 'Internet of Things'

Intel has set up an entire business unit to make sure that it doesn't miss out on the the whole "internet of things" movement. The chipmaker wants to make sure that it's not behind the curve on efforts to create a vast army of network-connected gadgets and sensors – ideally everything from remote-controllable toasters to your …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Flawless101

Stop.

"Internet of Things", why is this a phrase and why is the idea of it actually needed. I've never been at work and thought "shit, if only I could check my fridge or microwave", maybe if I was a project manager I would but I am not.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Stop.

I've often been leaving work and thought "I wish I could turn the heating on now, then it'd be lovelly and warm when I got home."

1. Big_Ted

@ Richard Bolingbroke

Then set the timer before going to work........

Go on embrase your inner technophobe for once......

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

especially after the 3 hour delay on the Victoria line

2. Big_Ted
      WTF?

Re: Stop......+1

We have had chips in things like tv's cars, washing machines etc for years. They all work very nicely thankyou, What is the point of my vacuum cleaner being able to talk to my fridge ?

They have been trying to do the fridge ordering stuff as you use it for ages as well. Look how popular that is.

"Internet of things" is another thing like ultrabooks, an idea to sale lots of stuff desperately looking for a market. Its up there with the creepy idea of an iphone knowing your heading home and switching on the lights.

I want it as much as an arm based surface tablet as my only device larger than a phone......

1. firefly