back to article Graphical front ends for PowerShell? Here's a couple for you

For many sysadmins Hyper-V Server is an area where Microsoft's TCO and ROI documents - built around the "Hyper-V Server is free" market-speak - fails to align with reality. If you're a PowerShell guru – or willing and able to use Windows 8 – then Hyper-V server mostly lines up with the Microsoft pitch. If you're a PowerShell …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Having the option for PowerShell commands (DOS Shell) is a decent idea, but forcing people to use PowerShell exclusively is a huge mistake. The reason GUI interfaces took off is they work nicely. As an Admin I would rather right click and change a check box on an Exchange mailbox than type a 240 character string where a single wrong switch invalidates the account.

I need technology to make me more efficient as an admin, not less.

1. SteveK

Oddly I was reading a year-or-two-old article the other day on this, which was indicating that command line .. err .. commands (or more correctly, use of scripts to make sure all the options and flags are correct) *are* more effective and efficient than GUIs, the reasoning being that people are human and make mistakes, forget to set options, click the wrong tick box (particularly if an update moves things around). The main synopsis was "if it can be scripted, script it. If it can't be scripted, make a check list".

I've written bulk user import scripts in Powershell and in Perl and certainly a lot simpler, quicker and less prone to errors to run that, fed from a CSV file or database, than to sit around manually creating a couple of hundred users with point-and-click.

Not that anyone is taking the GUI away, but is nice that more and more features are being exposed to the command line.

2. Velv
      Headmaster