back to article Swollen cloud could burst at any time, splatter us with FAIL – anxious tech biz

As a technology consultant, I regularly speak - both formally and informally - with sellers and buyers of cloud services, and I don't know if I can ever remember a time when the conversations have been further apart. While may be a temporary disconnect, it may point to something long term and more fundamental. Everyone is …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Robert E A Harvey

we were warned

A lot of people - including my humble self - were saying "this is madness" right from the start.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Speaking of PRISM

El Reg, did you miss this story:

http://front.kinja.com/job-networking-site-linkedin-filled-with-secret-nsa-pro-514057863

Plug in some of the names of the databases and signal capture stuff and that pesky metadata reveals lots of other stuff.

e.g. [SIGINT BANYAN site:linkedin.com]

Follow the 'also viewed' for metadata linkage to lots of public profiles explaining what item is database, what requires high clearance etc.

Their classifications for example

CELLEX database needs high clearance

SOFEX DOMEX etc.

ASSOCIATION is presumably the metadata linkage

HARVESTER is that sigint.co.uk signal harvester

TRAFFICTHIEF - raw sig int data

NUCLEON - boring language tool

MASTERSHAKE - don't know, but having fun finding out

Some boring stuff, COLISEUM is a requirements management database. Yawn.

I also learn that SIGINTs use Jabber with PKI.

3. IdeaForecasting

I'm glad this is only an opinion

You mention a lot of vague concerns about the 'Cloud' and mash it up with 'Big Data' (great buzz words BTW) but no real focus, or reasons given for the 'FAIL' in your title.