Not work! - Firmware hacks

This topic was created by dogged .

1. dogged

Not work! - Firmware hacks

Couldn't think where else to post this.

I've decided to do something about my old Motorola RAZR V3xx.

I love this thing. The form factor is perfect. It's pocket size, it's damage resistant, it's HSDPA, it's easy to use, it never drops calls, it gets four days usage from its tiny battery without issue.

The only problem is the usual Motorola problem - the OS is dogshit.

So, i thought, I'm still a programmer. I can do embedded work, I do it all the time. Why not?

Why not? Because it's 2013 and there are no available resources to study from is why not. So. If any of you have any dim and distant memories or even better, current links on how MotoRazr v series phones actually worked - and I want to go much further than just skinning - could you let me know?

Ta.

1. Anomalous Cowturd

Re: Not work! - Firmware hacks

Looks like if it's not on XDAdevs then you're S.O.L. So roll up your sleeves and dive right on in...

Or buy a new phone! ;o)

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

I know you love you phone

But why bother? You'll spend a lifetime trying to get it right.

Why do you think the software is so crap? Well the programmers got bored, hated the phone and so, went down the pub and had a few beers. That's where you need to be...... Life is too short.

2. Chris_Maresca

Some background info & suggestions

It runs a proprietary Motorola OS called P2K, IRC. AFAIK, there aren't a lot of hacks, although one way in might be bluetooth as I believe they used the BlueZ open source stack at the time.

You might see if you can get a USB data cable for it. Some platforms allow greater access through these connections (aka Sony Ericsson) which allowed people to hack the platform. I don't know it would do any good, but it's worth a try. In a similar vein, you might crack open the phone (or another working copy) and try to identify a JTAG header....