back to article The Lynx effect: The story of Camputers' mighty micro

Not all of the early 1980s British home computers were fated to be as successful as Sinclair’s ZX series or Acorn's BBC Micro. Many were destined instead to be loved solely by keen but small communities of owners. For all these users’ enthusiasm, there were too few of them to sustain the cost of developing, manufacturing, …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Alan Sharkey

What this article has not addressed is the influence of the IBM PC and its clones on the business world. In the early 80's I was a computer manager and was buying PC's like they were going out of fashion - all because of Lotus 1-2-3 and some home grown software written in Fortran.

I could not have done this on a Lync - we did look at this, the Amstrad, Apple etc - but MS-DOS was the way forward and IBM & Compaq were the beneficeries.

Alan

1. Andrew Baines Silver badge
      Paris Hilton

uhm

Maybe that's because the article isn't about IBM?

2. Arthur the cat Silver badge
    WTF?

Geography is a bit screwed

Cambridge doesn't have a Hill Street, but it does have a Hills Road, and if they moved into Bridge Street opposite the Mitre and Barron of Beef, they moved into St John's College.

1. mccp

Re: Geography is a bit screwed

I think the author is being confused by a Google maps cock up.

I'm pretty sure that Camputers were in the top floor of 32 Bridge Street (Cambridge wine merchants occupy teh ground floor nowadays) which is just next to Magdalene bridge. Google seems to think that this is in fact Magdalene street (wrong side of the river) and it places 32 Bridge Street on the wrong side of the road in St Johns College. Use Street View to look at the bridge and turn to face the wine shop. I'd insert a google link if I knew how.